The Roffredo Caetani Foundation
was established the 14 July 1972
by Princess Lelia Caetani

1. Statutory Aims
Article 1 of the Foundation’s Statute sets out its general aims as follows: “to honour and perpetuate the memory of the noble Caetani family and to continue the social and educational work begun in the Castle of Sermoneta by Donna Lelia Caetani’s father Roffredo Caetani, Duke of Sermoneta, and by her mother Marguerite Caetani”.

2. The Statute and Organisation of the Foundation
The current Statute was approved by the General Council of the Foundation on 24 November 2008. Lelia Caetani (4 October 1913–11 January 1977) was founder and first chairman of the Foundation. Her husband Hubert Howard (23 December 1907–17 February 1987) was elected to succeed her as chairman on 25 November 1978. On his death he was succeeded by Riccardo Cerocchi, who served two five-year mandates, from 19 May 1987 to 31 December 1997, and Arturo Osio, likewise two mandates, from 1 January 1998 to 31 December 2007. The next two chairmen, both serving single mandates of five years, were Gabriele Panizzi, from 1 January 2008 to 31 December 2012, and Pier Giacomo Sottoriva, from 1 January 2013 to 31 December 2017. Tommaso Agnoni was elected chairman in January 2018.

The official components of the Foundation are the Chairman, the Steering Committee, the General Council and the Audit Team. Management of the Foundation is exercised by the Steering Committee. Serving on the council by statutory right are The Prefect of Latina, the Director of the Higher Institute for Conservation and Restoration, the Superintendent of the Architectural and Landscape Heritage of Lazio in the provinces of Rome, Viterbo, Rieti, Latina and Frosinone; and by co-optation two councillors of the Camillo Caetani Foundation, one from the Leone Caetani Foundation and a councillor nominated by each of the bodies or associations that support the Foundation’s activities, or whose statutory aims, being similar to those of the Foundation, help achieve greater effectiveness across a range of cultural and conservational activity. 

On the chairman’s proposal, the General Council may also co-opt up to 18 councillors capable of making a worthwhile contribution to the pursuit of the Foundation’s goals. Lastly, and in order to continue to benefit from their experience, retired councillors of the Foundation may participate in the Foundation’s Honorary Council.
The work of the Foundation, reaching out from the Castle of Sermoneta, the Garden of Ninfa and from the historical office and archival complex of Tor Tre Ponti, extends far into the Pontine and Lepini territories, thus conserving and further illuminating the presence of the centuries-old Caetani family.
The Foundation’s collaboration with other entities (whether institutional or not) is governed by a range of regulations, memoranda of understanding, and protocols in accordance with the Foundation’s motto: NON CONFUNDITUR. Freedom of cultural expression and operation are indispensable and interdependent aspects of the Foundation’s identity.
The Foundation’s administrative offices are located in the historic buildings of Tor Tre Ponti, along the Via Appia, six kilometres southeast of Latina.

The Statute of the Roffredo Caetani Foundation
The full version of the Foundation Statue can be requested in pdf format at

The President, the Steering Committee, the General Council and the Board of Auditors are organs of the Foundation. The General Secretary and the Honorary Council are provided by Statute.

Members of the Board 2019

Tommaso Agnoni
Chairman (since the 1st of January 2018)

Vice Chairmen
Massimo Amodio
Maria Cristina Misiti – Istituto Centrale per la Grafica (Roma)

Steering Committee
Armandina Antobenedetto
Paola Cerocchi
Clotilde Lucchetti
Luciano Monti
Giovanni Pesiri
Antonio Rodinò di Miglione

General Council
Maurizio Falco – Prefect of Latina
Luigi Ficacci – Director of The Higher Institute for Conservation and Restoration
Stefano Gizzi  –  Superintendent, Department for Architectural and landscape Heritage for the provinces of Rome, Viterbo, Rieti, Latina and Frosinone

Andrea Gentiloni Silveri –  Camillo Caetani Foundation
Fulvio Tessitore –  Leone Caetani Foundation
Antonio Ricciardi – Chairman,  National Park of the Circeo
Cesare Crova – Italia Nostra
Sofia Bosco de Aguilar –  Italian Environmental Fund (FAI)
Maurilio Cipparone – University Consortium for Socioeconomic and Environmental Research/CURSA
Raffaele Riccardi – State Music Conservatory,  ‘Ottorino Respighi’, Latina
Elisa Cerocchi – International Music Campus, Latina
Edmund Howard – International Friends of Ninfa (UK)
Natalino Corbo – Land Reclamation Authority for the Pontine Area
Costanza Pera – World Wildlife Fund, Italy
Alberto Raponi – Italian League for the Protection of Birds (LIPU)

Agostino Attanasio
Alberto Budoni
Anna Esposito
Daniela Esposito
Michael Matheus
Azzurra Piattella
Sofia Varoli Piazza
Alessandro Viscogliosi

General Secretary
Nicoletta Valle

Audit Team
Gabriele Giordano
Pier Giorgio Avvisati
Tonino Del Giovine

Honorary Council
Rita Biuso
Giovanni Carbonara
Salvatore D’Amico
Raniero Vincenzo De Filippis
Giovanni Magnanti
Arturo Osio
Gabriele Panizzi
Antonella Ponsillo
Fulco Pratesi
Mario Priolo
Roberto Prosseda
Bernardo Rossi Doria
Lidia Soprani
Pier Giacomo Sottoriva
Giuliano Tallone
Luigi Zanda

Manager of the Garden of Ninfa
Antonella Ponsillo

Superintendent of the Garden of Ninfa
Lauro Marchetti